Adding and removing points thorughout the timeline

Hello everyone,

In Mocha Pro V5, as I track my footage I see that I need to add and remove tracking points throughout the sequence.

Specifically there are some frames where I need more detail and some I need less detail so far as tracking points are concerned.

Since I am new at this I am wondering what are the best practices in adding and removing tracking points.

Taking advantage of the tutorials, I am already breaking up the shapes into smaller logical areas for tracking purposes. But still there are times when I need a lot of points and sometimes when I need very few. I assume I can add and remove tracking points as needed – but again what are the best practices.

Thanks,

Rowby

You can always add and remove shapes when tracking, and change any amount of splines using add to x-spline. You can simply select redundant shapes and delete them. But you do not use “tracking points” in mocha, only shapes to look for texture. I want to be clear on that point. And you need to track similarly moving objects, that is objects that are moving in the same planar way, when you use multiple shapes.

Cheers,
Mary

Thanks, Mary, that’s good information :slight_smile: And I understand what you are saying

I should have made myself clearer (but what you said in reply is still helpful>) I have already did my tracking to stabilize my video. In your training videos you made it clear that we first need to have a rock solid stabilized video before rotoscoping etc.

What I am doing now is doing my “rotoscoping” my video, as you have demoed in your various training videos. And that’s where I am dealing with ädding and removing" the “points”. So based on your response, I assume I can add and resume points as needed. (I am keeping in mind your video tutorials where you make it clear that you look for the big changes in the subject, and keep the rotoscoping equally spaced apart and if possible not too close together.)

Hee hee!