After Effects Workflow

Hello everyone.

I’m new to mocha and do not have a lot of experience with tracking in general. That said, I’ve looked and watched various tutorials and am stuck. I have a glidecam shot following a child running forward. I’d like to have 3d text in the distance on the ground. I’ve tried using 3D tracker in AE and am not getting good results. I open Mocha Plus have tracked the background and in MP the track looks solid. In AE I created a text layer and with the position expression, I parented the text to MP center parameter in the effects tab, just as the tutorials have shown but it doesn’t look like a good track then.

I went back into MP and tracked a second plane, and did a 3d camera solve. The solve is 99%. I tried copying to clipboard but in AE there isn’t a paste option available. I’m not sure how to get this to work. Can anyone help or point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Steve

Hi Steve,

You can’t just parent to the location of the null, the object has to be at the location of the null for it to move correctly in the scene.

Thanks for responding so quickly. That makes sense but now I have more questions.

1. I don’t have any nulls in AE. After I copy the camera solve data and return to AE, I have the paste options grayed out and not available. If I hit CMD-V in word it will paste data - so I know it’s on the clipboard. I’m not sure how to get this data to AE. Can I use the effects pane somehow?

2. How to track the scene. The child is running in a large grass yard. To the front in the distance and to the right are fences. I used these to track the scene, but I need the 3D text in the distance on the grass and not the fence. How can i do this? I can’t track a small section of grass where the text will be can I? It seems like it would all blend together.

Thanks again.

Steve

Hi Steve,

1. Do you have the “mocha 3D track importer for AE” installed? If not, it is available here: Boris FX | Downloads