Fixing Motor Matte Artifacts in AE

Is this issue already fixed?

I am currently rotoscoping a waving antenna with motionblur and stuff (hureay!)

I am still having artifacts and i studied the spline very carefully for overlapping points but still having a jagged line in after effects.

Somebody knows a solution?

Ross, do you want me to send over the file?

Thanks in advance and kind regards, Giso

Is this issue already fixed?
I am currently rotoscoping a waving antenna with motionblur and stuff (hureay!)
I am still having artifacts and i studied the spline very carefully for overlapping points but still having a jagged line in after effects.
Somebody knows a solution?
Ross, do you want me to send over the file?
Thanks in advance and kind regards, Giso

Hi Ross,

thanks for the quick reply!

Mocha4Ae about panel says:
Version 2.1.0 build 1959
Build Date Nov 2 2009

Mocha Shape says:

Does this clarify something?

Thanks!
Giso

Hi Ross,
thanks for the quick reply!
Mocha4Ae about panel says:
Version 2.1.0 build 1959
Build Date Nov 2 2009
Mocha Shape says:
Does this clarify something?
Thanks!
Giso

Hi Guys,

Here are some examples of what causes the artefacts. In the image with the artefacts, you can see the the spline crosses back over itself. No matter how small the crossing is, it will always cause the artefact.

J-P

Hi Marco,

I’m sorry this is causing such a big problem for you. There are almost certainly overlapping points at the tip of that long thin spline section that are causing the artefact. I do accept that it’s a thin line between close and overlapping on small shapes like this.

I’m going to raise this issue at our next scheduling meeting to see if we can put some time into developing a solution.

Best regards,

J-P

We discussed this problem in the scheduling meeting today, and it’s now scheduled for a fix in mocha/motor 2.0, which will be coming out later in the year.

Sorry we don’t have a quicker fix, but we will definitely be addressing this issue.